The Parish of Glendermott and particularly St Columb’s Church has maintained it’s presence overlooking the River Foyle for close to 180 years. It serves as a prime example as one of the oldest churches in the Diocese of Derry and has stood the test of time, witnessing the evolution of Derry from an industrial city in the 1800’s, right through to partition and more recent events of the Troubles. Whilst our parish suffered immeasurably during the Penal Times, the faith and perseverance of our clergy and laity has remained solid. We now have four churches in our Parish, each with their own unique story. It is hoped this parish history section will provide a lasting resource to those wishing to know more about our Parish origins, whilst reviving memories of older parishioners.
We are indebted to those no longer with us, who have already complied and contributed to the oral and written history of Glendermott Parish. It is the aim of this resource to further upon that.
Special thanks go to Fr Roland Colhoun and Lee McDaid by providing colour photographs. Sincere thanks also goes to those who photographed and preserved various photographs and booklets. These can be viewed in our “Churches” section. We are also indebted to Monsignor James Coulter who had the foresight to compile a complete history of the Parish in 1958. If you have any further information, memories or photographs, please get in touch via email at [email protected]